校長簡歷

倪明選教授

 

倪明選教授於2021年6月1日出任香港科技大學(廣州)候任校長。

 

倪教授於2002年7月加入香港科技大學並擔任多個職位,包括計算器科學及工程系主任與講座教授、霍英東研究院院長,以及校長特別助理。在2015年1月,倪教授獲聘任為澳門大學學術副校長、電腦及資訊科學系講座教授。倪教授於2019年5月重返香港科技大學出任首席副校長、計算器科學及工程系講座教授。

 

倪教授是一位在計算器科學與工程領域方面饒有成就的學者,其研究領域廣博,於國際學術界獲廣泛認可。倪教授於1980年獲得美國普渡大學電機工程博士學位。他於1981年加入密西根州立大學計算器科學與工程系,後於1989年升任正教授。他亦曾任美國國家科學基金會微電子系統結構專案主任(1995-1996)及CC&T技術公司聯合創辦人暨執行長(1998-2001)。

 

倪教授的研究興趣包括高性能計算、移動計算、無線網路、大數據,及智慧型計算。他曾撰寫3本學術書籍及逾350篇學術期刊及研討會論文,其著作被引用次數逾37,000次(據Google Scholar)。 作為8個國際會議最佳論文獎的得主,他亦擁有28個美國/中國授權的專利,並曾指導畢業73名博士。

 

倪教授積極參與中國內地學術事務。他曾任中國國家重點基礎研究發展計畫(973計畫)中關於無線傳感網路的基礎理論及關鍵技術研究項目之首席科學家、北京清華大學IV訪問講座教授、上海交通大學神州數碼訪問講座教授、中國科學院海外評審專家、中國國家自然科學基金委員會及科學技術部專家小組成員,以及3個國家重點實驗室的學術委員會成員。

 

倪教授曾擔任多個其研究領域一流學術期刊及雜誌的編輯委員會成員,也逾百次受邀於國際、內地及地區學術研討會擔任主題講者,並擔任逾40個國際會議的大會主席。

 

倪教授為電機及電子工程師學會(IEEE)終身會士及香港工程科學院院士,並榮獲中國計算器學會所授予的海外傑出貢獻獎(2009)、中國教育部所頒發的自然科學一等獎(2010)、中國國務院所頒發的國家自然科學二等獎(2011),以及廣東省頒發的科學技術一等奬(2014)。

 

倪教授積極推動創新的教學方法,以促進學生為本的學習及全人教育。他亦致力於推動教職員專業發展及鼓勵跨學科教育與研究,並積極領導跨界別合作,連結業界與科研,推廣大學創新為社會作出貢獻。

BIOGRAPHY

PROFESSOR

Lionel M. NI

Professor Lionel M. Ni assumed the role of the President Designate of The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology(Guangzhou) on June 1, 2021.

 

Professor Ni first joined The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology (HKUST) in July 2002 and served in various capacities including Chair Professor and Head of Department of Computer Science and Engineering, Dean of HKUST Fok Ying Tung Graduate School,& and Special Assistant to the President. In January 2015, he became the Vice Rector (Academic Affairs) and Chair Professor in the Department of Computer and Information Science at the University of Macau. He rejoined HKUST as Provost and Chair Professor of Computer Science and Engineering in May 2019.

 

Professor Ni is a highly accomplished scholar in computer science and engineering with broad research interests and wide international recognition. He earned his PhD degree in Electrical Engineering from Purdue University in 1980. He then joined the Department of Computer Science and Engineering at Michigan State University in 1981, and was promoted to full Professor in 1989. He served as the Microelectronic Systems Architecture program director at US National Science Foundation (1995-1996) and was co-founder and CEO of CC&T Technologies, Inc., Michigan (1998-2001).

 

Professor Ni’s research interests include high-performance computing, mobile computing, wireless networking, big data, and intelligent computing. He has published three books and over 350 refereed journal and conference articles with over 37,000 citations on Google Scholar. The winner of eight best paper awards, he has multiple achievements including ownership of 28 US/China patents and having supervised 73 well-placed PhD students.

 

Professor Ni has engaged in many activities in the Mainland. He served as the Chief Scientist of the National Basic Research Program of China (973 Program) on Wireless Sensor Networks, Visiting Endowed Chair Professor of Tsinghua University, Visiting Endowed Chair Professor of Shanghai Jiao Tong University, Overseas Assessor of Chinese Academy of Sciences, Expert Panel of the Natural Science Foundation of China and Ministry of Science and Technology and Member of Academic Committee of three State Key Laboratories.

 

Professor Ni has served on the editorial board of many first-tier journals and flagship magazines in his research field. He has given over 100 invited keynote speeches at international, national and regional events, and chaired over 40 national and international conferences.

 

A Life Fellow of Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and ;Fellow of Hong Kong Academy of Engineering Sciences, he won the Overseas Outstanding Contribution Award from China Computer Federation in 2009, the First Class Award in Natural Sciences for Research Excellence from the Ministry of Education, China n 2010, the Second Class Award in Natural Sciences for Research Excellence from the State Council, China n 2011, and the First Class Award in Science and Technology from the Guangdong Province in 2014.

 

Professor Ni has been proactive in promoting innovation in pedagogical approaches to enhance student-centered learning and fostering holistic development of students. He is dedicated to facilitating faculty professional development and encouraging interdisciplinary education and research. He has also played a dynamic role in leading cross-sector collaboration, connecting industry and research, and promoting innovation at the University for positive societal impact.